Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Qwirkle


Overall Rating
Qwirkle
MindWare's Best-Selling Game of All Time
Parents' Choice Gold Award Parents' Choice Gold Award
Mensa Select Award Mensa Select Award
Major Fun Award Major Fun Award
Creative Child Magazine Award Creative Child Magazine Award
National Parenting Center's Seal of Approval National Parenting Center's Seal of Approval
Spiel des Jahres Award Spiel des Jahres Award
Ages 6 and up
 Quantity
$24.95
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Susan Marantz
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 03/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ordered at the recommendation of a gifted student who enjoyed playing at home. Easy to learn, to store, and for multiple age levels.


Author: Donna
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was a gift for my daughter and her husband. They love playing this game at a friends, so I got them their own.


Author: Kathy
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little difficult for a 5 yr. old to follow the rules but have played with it making up own games which is also fun.


Author: Deborah
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 09/23/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

If you buy this for a classroom, purchase about 6 sets of the game. Lable the bags 1, 2, 3, (etc)then lable the back of each cube the corresponding number for it's bag. (this takes some time but worth it when a kiddo drops a the tile on floor.) You will need to use an matallic colored silver or gold Sharpie pen. You really don't want your sets mixed up. I also purchased a cord keeper from the local fabric store to be sure the bag closes tigthly. If not, I garantee the parts spill out. When introducting this to K-2 students, I give each student six blocks and ask them to 'discover' what the they are. They may need help to realize the colors and shapes. Then I ask the children,'If we are going to play a game with them how could we do that?' I don't teach the rules, I guide students to discover them. They learn the rules faster this way and take ownership of the game. I also us it as a class reward for accumulated good behavior stars for the week. Super game.


Author: Kenneth Geller
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 09/19/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better with four people. Became tedious for two. However, a good game.


Author: Carmella Navalany
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 09/13/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Loved it! I enjoyed playing the game with my grandchildren on their sleepover visit.


Author: Evan
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 04/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

6 yr is definitely the lower limit on age. He enjoys the game.


Author: Barbara
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 04/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I'd give a rating of 10 for the concept of the game but the colors are too difficult to see for elderly eyes, autistic eyes, color blind people etc. Why not gray colored tiles with 6 colors of different intensity. In my game the red and orange look alike. If everyone would write in, they would change it. Love the game - if I could see the colors.


Author: Anna
Reviewing As: Child
Date: 03/30/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very fun but a little confusing


Author: Vicki Altman
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 03/07/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This game is best used as an entertainment type of activity. It requires low level cognitave skills and can be used for several types of activities.


Author: Liz
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 02/28/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had. So much fun playing that I bought a set for myself to play with my friends.


Author: Vernon J Miller
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/17/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We enjoy the game


Author: Mel
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/10/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good for younger kids; my 10 year old son was bored with it.


Author: Carolyn J. Smith
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The bright child enjoys the 'blocks'. I didn't stay to watch her play, but I think the adults in her life will play with her. Retired Teacher


Author: Alex
Reviewing As: Child
Date: 11/24/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Qwirkle is an amazing game of skill and chance.


Author: Jennifer Walden
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 06/07/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My special education students love this game! Our only complaint is we are on our second game and the paint chips or wears off pretty quickly!


Author: Daryl
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/28/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only thing stopping this from getting 5 stars is that the orange and red are far too close together. My orange tiles have now been painted white.


Author: Judith Aplin
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/02/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a game requiring thinking by all who play it. Our family has played it with ages eight and up and it is enjoyed by them. Our almost six year old granddaughter did not 'get' it, but she will eventually.


Author: Ruth Bolt
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good family game. Teaches younger children to match colors and shapes. However, the older children seem to get tired of the game after a bit.


Author: Ann
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have enjoyed got for 13 year old but not a favorite


Author: Jennifer Martin
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hi. I think Qwirkle is a very aesthetically pleasing game. I love the feel of the wood tiles and they are very handsome. I will only note that my son cannot play because he is color blind. So all the blues look like purples, etc.


Author: D. Moyer
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Young children picked up the game quickly. Colors were hard to distinguish - maybe yellow as a color would help.


Author: jayne
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We love this game but I had to steal the slanted tile stands from my Upwords game to display my Quirkle tiles. These tile stands should be included in the game instead of trying to stand them up on their own. My 2 cents.


Author: Patricia Gray
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoy it; kids 6-10 haven't clicked with it yet.


Author: Carole
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/24/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My nephew and his family love playing this game.


Author: shirley h.
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/16/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good toy.


Author: Kris
Reviewing As:
Date: 05/11/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My girls had lots of fun with this one! Would highly recommend for elem age kids.


Author: Jennier
Reviewing As:
Date: 03/17/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Love this game and the kids enjoy it also!


Author: Jean
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/16/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My grandchildren love to play Qwirkle with my daughter and I. It is a great game to learn shapes, colors and STRATEGY. Love it.


Author: ellie vermillion
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At Christmas people from 5 to 75 enjoyed this game. We slightly bent the rules for the younger ones just counting Qwirkles, not total points. But the adults really worked on the scoring. FUN for ALL


Author: Connie Baxter
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My husband and I have played this game with our 9 & 5 year old grandsons. The directions are a little hard to follow and very long. We did have fun playing!


Author: Maryellen Clifford
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/08/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our 7 year old grandson enjoys playing Qwirkle which he got for a Christmas present.


Author: Chris
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun, need more practice :)


Author: Catherine
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This game is fun although it took a whle to figure out the instructions.


Author: Nicole
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice family game that is tolerant of younger siblings. Easy to take on trips.


Author: Peggy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/03/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My grandchildren are still a little young but we 'adjust' the directions and they enjoy it a lot.


Author: Marty Miller
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sturdy pieces & easy to do. fun for ages 6 and up. Rather simplistic for adults but our great for our young grandsons.


Author: Sarah McCloskey
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun and challenging game. My 7 year old got frustrated due to the complexity but once the directions and rules sunk in it was much better. READ the rules over and over and again while playing.


Author: Sid
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Simple rules. Kids can beat adults. Stores as a bag of tiles, a pad of paper, and a pencil. Plays as well with 4 people as with 2.


Author: Laura
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun game, similar to dominoes. Easy for 6 and up - not educational, but just challenging enough.


Author: mph0172
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The entire family loves this game. Fun. Challenging. Easy for teams or individuals to play.


Author: Kari
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/02/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun, but I wish the makers would use more distinguishing colors so my color-deficient son could play more easily.


Author: Carroll Devine
Reviewing As:
Date: 10/13/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There has to a better way to determine the winner. I would prefer that everyone use all of his/her tiles. Also, in some light, the red and orange colors are too similar.


Author: BEVERLY TORREY
Reviewing As:
Date: 09/09/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

VERY GOOD GAME


Author: Barbara Smith
Reviewing As:
Date: 08/13/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We played the game with my 5-year-old grandson and we all enjoyed it.


Author: jzubris
Reviewing As:
Date: 07/29/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Directions too complicated. We played it with simplified directions. The kids in the neighborhood loved it.


Author: Silvia
Reviewing As:
Date: 03/30/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The game itself is awesome. A lot of fun. The reason it doesn't get a perfect rating from me is the really poor quality of the game tiles themselves. The paint comes off really easy and the tiles often aren't even the same size. Some aren't even square. For that price I find this really disappointing.


Author: Wayne Berwager
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/16/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun for the Family


Author: Ingely Forbes
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/16/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In low or diminished light it is hard to tell the difference between orange and red, and between blue and green which makes for confusion in playing tiles.


Author: Robert Cartmell
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/26/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very entertaining family game. played it at a friends house and enjoyed it so i bought it for our family


Author: Elena Rippe
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/20/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A thinking game.


Author: J. Marlow
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/20/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My grandchildren have'nt had a chance to play much with this game. 5-yr old enjoyed it, 2-yr old liked to play with the squares! I think they'll love it as a game in a year or two. I love your catalog and all the toys in it - they are unusual and challenging.


Author: Judith Jergensen
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kids love it.


Author: Rachel
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/08/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pretty fun, but one of those games that kind of gives you a headache after a while trying to 'see' all your options.


Author: Kim
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A kid-friendly version of dominos. Reminds me of the card game 'Blink', which is also really fun with the kids!


Author: Sherry Garrett
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this game is enough of a challenge to keep adults interested. My 11 yrs. old grandson was better at it that we were!


Author: S. Cunningham
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My grandson loves it!


Author: Sharon Swanson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We all enjoyed this game, the six year old had as much fun as the adults.


Author: Janet
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a fun game the whole family can enjoy.


Author: Sue
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun, engaging, gets better every time you play as you see more possibilities and play smarter. Great grandparents and 10 year old activity!


Author: Smarty"s Mom
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although my 6-year-old daughter hasn't cottoned to this game yet, my parents had a blast with it over the holidays and are planning to get one for themselves.


Author: Angie
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun for kids and adults alike. Took several times of playing through for our 6 yr old nephew to catch on to the rules.


Author: Kathy Brennan
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very fun! Directions could use more examples.


Author: Jackie
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My granddaughters really enjoy this game.


Author: JNC
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hard to learn but fun are the comments I received from my grandkids.


Author: Jackie
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/27/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My grandkids, ages 6 and 3, loved the colorful tiles and could name the designs easily. The six year old enjoyed playing the game and was quickly catching our mistakes.


Author: Glenda
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/20/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The game is great however, I wish they would have used different colors for the tiles. They are hard to see when standing.


Author: Beverly Ohigashi
Reviewing As:
Date: 10/29/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Made well and fun to play


Author: Carolyn Sheriff
Reviewing As:
Date: 09/01/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

lots of fun


Author: dutchslot
Reviewing As:
Date: 07/19/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Qwirkle is a fun game for all ages. My husband can not play it because he is color blinded and the orange and red a way too close in color.


Author: sharon
Reviewing As:
Date: 03/11/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I gave Qwirle as a family game to my 3 children/ 6 grandchild. I have played with all the families and we have had a great time. The only draw back...my son in law is color blind, therefore cannot enjoy the fun with us. I would suggest that a letter be placed in the center of each tile to represent the color, ex. R=red, P=purple etc. I know that he would enjoy the game and we would enjoy having him join in the fun.


Author: Sara Martin
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/24/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My second grade students have a hard time understanding the scoring of the game, although they are liking the attributes and colors.


Author: Rebecca Mertz
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/20/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I bought two games for 9 and 11 year old brothers and they love Qwirkle.


Author: Svein Inge Årrestad
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It is a very good game and can be played with good result by the whole family, young abd old together. To begin with one can have an extra rule: to play just one piece each time. In this way you get used to the game and can use the real rule for this.


Author: gail
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think it is more suited for 9-10 year olds and up as it requires more strategy than younger kids can sustain.


Author: Kathryn Luithle
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good game to get your mind thinking. Directions a little hard to decipher at first


Author: Irene Merritt
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fun for both children and adults.


Author: Christine Holmbeck
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Once we got the flow of the game it was hours of fun.


Author: Leah Shell
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ok game thought it would be as fun as blokus but have not found that to be the case


Author: Ken Hanselman
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our family has played this game several times and enjoyed the many variations. The amount of time playing the game was just right.


Author: oglamilca adams
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/03/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great thinking game. It did take us a wile to get the hang of it


Author: Jennifer
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We found the instructions difficult to follow and hard to keep score. We made our own rules.


Author: BJ Brauckmiller
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I purchased this game for our granddaughter who lives in Boston, MA. So I don't know how it was received, other than it was delivered.


Author: Dian Noelke
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this went to my granddaughter and she likes it very much.


Author: Cindy
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My 21 yr old and 9 year old played the game with their mom on Christmas day and had a fun time.


Author: Bonnie Gaus
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good family game for those under 10.


Author: Sandy
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/30/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our 6 year old is loving this game, as are us parents. Fun, fast and a good strategy game.


Author: Bomber4000
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/27/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good game, however I found a problem with ours. It says that there are 3 of each piece, however my set was shipped with 1 extra green clover and 1 too few green diamonds. Otherwise game play is 5/5. Good game, a bit hard to learn. Much like Scrabble or the game Set.


Author: Scott Rogers
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/16/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Deceptively simple, yet extremely complex. Qwirkle is a great game for young and old alike. It's become one of our favorties in the house and on game night.


Author: Helen
Reviewing As:
Date: 10/02/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dominoes and Uno rolled into one.

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox