Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Lateral Thinking Posers: Set of 2


Overall Rating
Product Not found
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Kevin Litkowski
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/26/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Lateral Thinking Posers are listed as being 10 and up, but I'm not sure how appropriate the subject matter of the questions may be. Many have to do with death, and Puzzle # 3 is about a man who commits suicide because he's eaten his own son. I'm the last person you'd call a prude, but this seems a little over the top for kids.


Author: joyce dover
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/06/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Makes you think hard, lots of fun


Author: Mary Shupp
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

He began reading as soon as he opened them at Christmas. Told me they were great.


Author: Marie Englehart
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We enjoyed solving the puzzles at our family gathering on Christmas Day. The puzzles were challenging and most of them were appropriate for our children. There were several puzzles however, which had violent subject matter and we found we had to censor them. My daughter received these books as a present and some of the stories were upsetting to her. I would not recommend these books due to the violent nature of their content and feel there should be a warning in the product description so parents can make an informed choice before purchasing.


Author: Debbie
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My daughter is 9 years old. She loves math and needs a challenge and so I purchased these books. While the puzzles are clever, in my opinion some of the titles are not appropriate for younger children. (i.e. 'Dead Drunk' and 'Death Ride') I would definitely suggest following the guide for the recommendation of ages 14 and up.


Author: Judith Orr
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I passed these, along with others I'd ordered to family at Christmas. They were a big hit.


Author: A 12 Year Old
Reviewing As: Child
Date: 11/15/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tough to solve but great. I disagree with the other reviews, by 10 us kids have already had Health class and learned about those situations in life.Amazing!!


Author: C. Michel
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/26/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We usually enjoy the products that we buy from Mindware very much - but these books were a huge disappointment. A majority of the puzzler stories have such strange and specific plots that there is no way anybody (adult or child) would actually come up with the scenarios that are written in the solutions. In addition, many of the puzzles are based on graphic and disturbing stories of murder and other mature topics. Definitely NOT appropriate for kids in the suggested age range!


Author: Nancy Turner
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

These are lots of fun, however several cannot be 'solved' with the information given. Additionally, several present situations a bit adult for an 11 year old.


Author: Caligirl
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/12/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Ordered these books for my ten year old as a Christmas gift. I thought he would love them, then much to my suprise on Christmas morning he was testing our wits by reading aloud and shocked the whole family when he came to a scenario about 'hard porn movie' as the book states. I took the book from him and upon reviewing it found other material that I found completely innapropriate for a ten year old. These books involve scenarios involving porn, adultery, lovers, and murders. In my opinion not subject matter appropriate for ten years old as suggested on the website.


Author: Lynn Winters
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/12/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My son loved these books


Author: MG
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The puzzles and posers are great fun, if a bit outdated and using the British English terms, instead of American English, for some things. Also, not for children sensitive to stories involving murder or infidelity.


Author: Rey
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

critical clues are left out making it a frustrating guessing game


Author: Sara Z.
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We worked on the Poser questions during a long car trip and it really helped pass time. My 11 year old loved them. Our 18 year old niece did too. It's out-of-the-box thinking and challenging even for adults.


Author: OHMom
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My sons love these books! It isn't often you find something that both a 17 and 13 year old enjoy.

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox