Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Strange Plants Collection


Overall Rating
Strange Plants Collection
It’s a Terrifyingly Terrific Terrarium
Ages 6 and up
 Quantity
$24.95
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Joanna F Donohue
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter was thrilled to get this on Chriatmas. She loves nature and haa the butterfly kit as well. She went right up.to her room to assemble tbe dome but she found it too difficult on her own. She got her.mom to help. She loves thi. gift and I wll be shopping Mindware for birthdays & other occasions.


Author: James Waldron
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 07/25/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My niece loved her plant collection.


Author: Judy Mehling
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 03/28/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A fun project if one follows the directions carefully.


Author: J Farrey
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 03/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent idea tans alternative to typical 'toy' present. 6 year old thinks it is COOL! Keeps her engaged as she checks on growth daily.


Author: Jenny
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We bought this for my son and this was one of the few things he asked for for Christmas. He is checking on it daily and loves the fact that the plants look strange and is anticipating their flowers coming on in the spring.


Author: carole
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

involved for a child


Author: Mona
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 08/09/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Difficult, confusing instructions, nothing grew, very disappointing.


Author: Marilyn Foster
Reviewing As:
Date: 05/10/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This did not grow.


Author: Linda Wieberg
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/15/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Granddaughter loved it. She can't wait for the plants to grow. She loves plants and animals.


Author: Mom to 3
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/24/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The product comes with seeds that have different light and water requirements which is silly when there is one pot.


Author: Sharon
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/26/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandaughter was so excited to start planting. It was so much fun for her and me. Learning about these unusual plants was so surreal. Fantastic education item. Thank you!


Author: Chris
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/19/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lots of anticipation, waiting to see the little plants grow. Very easy to do and fun to check progress every day. My six year old loves it.


Author: Kathy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter is keeping me updated on the status of her terrarium. She can hardly wait for them to grow.


Author: Ann Caren
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Plants take forever to grow. Some need pre-planting time in the fridge and special water. Also, container has no drainage.


Author: Cherie Smith
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/12/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We folllowed the directions exactly and not one seed germinated. It turned out to be a very expensive bowl of soil. (It has been over 2 weeks since we planted)


Author: Anne Benjamin
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating product...... Especially for a ten year old interested in gardening.


Author: Jackie Bagwell
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/09/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

As Mom, I am disappointed. My daughter was very excited about this. Only 3 of the 4 different plants sprouted, and of those only one survivedthe space plant. It grows like a weed inside the terarium but when I try to expose it to air to plant elsewhere it dries up very, very quickly. It is stuck in there forever. It is a cool plant though. You touch it and the leaves close up and 'wilt' temporarily.


Author: Kris Dunlap
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/02/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We got this for my 6-year-old nephew who loves to grow things. Everyone at the party thought it was awesome! I might get another one for my kids! Very cool and unique gift idea.


Author: Chad Caperoon
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/28/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Only one of the plants has sprouted for us so my son is disappointed. However we then purchased the root vue and that started to spout instantly.


Author: Cathy Simpson
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/14/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My students are so excited and can't wait until our plants 'grow' into mini monsters.


Author: Nanette Harmon
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my grandson loves


Author: laura
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We followed the directions and already have all the plants sprouting. We have never had luck with aquasaurs so we were nervous but so far the plants are sprouting and growing.


Author: KB
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent product - son is thrilled!


Author: Tim Wulling
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We like it, but the instructions were confusing on three things. First, one plant has two different names: sensitive plant on the seed packet and space plant on the instruction sheet. Pictures provided correlation. Second, the instructions for the pitcher plant refer to a Ziplock bag and germination mixture that were not part of the kit, and called for 6-weeks refrigeration. We resorted to the instructions on the seed packet which were more conventional. Third, a bag of colored 'gravel' was in the kit but we couldn't discern what it was intended for.


Author: Paige Wyckoff
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My niece seemed very excited to plant her crazy garden!


Author: Richard Sussman
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/02/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The children seem to like it and they hope the seeds germinate.


Author: Jessica
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My nephew lives it!


Author: Jodi Phipps
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic product!


Author: penguin lady
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Some plants have to be planted and in the refridgerator, some needed dark, but not cold, some needed none of the above. Having plants with similar growing needs would have been nice.


Author: Anna B
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

After only a week, we are seeing germination. My six year old loves caring for them.


Author: Edith Burgess
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Actually, I bought TWO of these. The first one arrived and I knew someone else who would enjoy it so reordered. Both recipients went wild over them. One's husband and daughter especially! We're all now anxiously awaiting their growth...they will keep us all in awe as they grow! This was the first time I'd seen your catalogand found several items not available elsewhere. I intend to stay on your mailing list!


Author: Ellen Graham
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our 7 year old granddaughter is quite intrigued with all the u nusual plants.


Author: Carol Andy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great item for a 5 year old and a 7 year old.


Author: David
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

it is something for me and my daughter to enjoy together

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox