Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Rainbow LED Ant Habitat


Overall Rating
Rainbow LED Ant Farm
EXCLUSIVE! A NASA-Developed Ant Habitat
Ages 6 and Up
 Quantity
$39.95
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Tina Brouwer
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 04/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We're waiting for the ants to arrive! The LED lighting is impressive. We can't wait to see what the ants will do!


Author: Ben King
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 04/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the ant farm.


Author: Molly Chiz
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 04/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful product. Had trouble getting the ants. Had to order twice in order to receive the ants. Perhaps consider changing vendors for the ants.


Author: L WOOD
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 7 year old was (and remains) fascinated by his Ant Farm, giving us updates (initially every hour, now each day) and even writing an impromptu report of 'Ant Facts' after observing the activity. Only difficulty was that the ants took a bit longer to receive by main than was stated on the order form.


Author: Patty Hale
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great product. Had some trouble ordering ants and getting them shipped but finally found a place and received them


Author: John Resler
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Granddaughter was delighted with the ant habitat, there was a problem with the order of two ant habitats receiving only one. this was promptly taken care of, to my delight. have decided to keep one for myself. I will order in the future from MindWare. Thank you!


Author: Emily
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wish these had been around when I was a kid! The gel makes it so easy to tell exactly where the ants are tunneling and the LED lights add a fun touch. It is not quite as large as I would have liked, however.


Author: Gramee
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The entire family has loved watching this process!


Author: Chantal Roux
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great farm but you should really insist, before ordering, that you need to buy ants with the rainbow Led Ant Farm. It's the start of the experience.


Author: Alice
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining. The kids have really enjoyed watching the ants work. So much better than the old-fashioned sand ant farms.


Author: NMP
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My daughter received this item as a gift. She loves it. It was easy to watch the ants dig tunnels. Only complaint is that the ants are insistent on chewing the seal. No one has escaped yet, but my daughter will be bummed if we need to let the ants go because the seal is compromised.


Author: nino vittorio
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kids love it, still playing with it and preferred over other toys. We received one ant farm which was damaged (leakage) we are in the process of sending it back. Please refund the cost to my credit card if I was billed for both (original and replacement unit)


Author: J sel
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is amazing and the whole family loves it!


Author: Rachel
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

So fun to watch, works great and easy to order the ants.


Author: amy
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be nice to get the ants for free after almost paying $40 for this. Then you want another $5 for ants. I don't understand the reasoning behind that!


Author: Lindsey
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 12/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Smaller than I thought it would be!


Author: Karla Heaman
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 10/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hours of fun entertainment! The ant farm is also made very well - no fears of escaping ants!


Author: charlie esterly
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 06/13/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

even though i am very satisfied with the ant farm i am very dissapointed in the place recommended to purchase ants. they are very expensive to the point it has prevented me from ordering another one.


Author: Amy
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 06/04/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very cool for first couple of weeks, but the gel is liquefying (it is in cool room and not in direct sunlight) and most ants are gone by 6 weeks. That may be standard life cycle, but that should be better described when buying.


Author: Margaret Rymkos
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Grandson loved it.The ants are really digging alot of tunnels.


Author: Bobbi palmer
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My son LOVES this ant farm. We got the ants in the mail and have been totally entertained since. I only hope the ants do not too quickly.


Author: Cristina Hipp
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A little tricky getting the ants because of cold weather, but the ant farm is really cool so far


Author: Paula Olson
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the lights don't even work on it! My nephew didn't want to send it back because he already purchased the ants and they had already started digging tunnels. This makes me very angry because I paid extra for the effects of the lights and they didn't even work!


Author: Kerry Fritz
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/10/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Still waiting on the ants to be delivered to see how well it works.


Author: jan
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/09/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the Rainbow LED ant farm was a big hit with all ages. It was for a 5yr old but the whole family is enjoying it. the dad in the family is thinking of getting one for his desk at work.


Author: Judith E Haugen
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/07/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Granddaughter loves it the lights change colors and she was very excited to be able to watch the ants!


Author: Cheryl Campbell
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/07/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful colors and easy to use. Smaller than I pictured it to be. Ants are alittle hard to see through the gel. However, my daughter LOVES her ant farm. Even with out the ants, the farm makes a great night light.


Author: Hilde
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/05/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Loved watching ants tunneling - Amazing.


Author: Suzannah
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Simply, lovely, fascinating - makes a nice nightlight.


Author: Allison
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The ant farm was very exciting for my 5 year old daughter. Watching the ants build new trails everyday was a great science lesson too! Easy to use, lights up bright colors too!


Author: LIsa
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 12/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous toy. The entire family is enjoying watching the ants work. Encourages learning. ONLY SUGGESTION is that we were disappointed that ants not included and we needed to order them after the fact. A pop-up with a link to ant order form would be helpful when placing order.


Author: Gloria Barker
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 11/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandson was thrilled. The ant farm was all he believed it would be and more. He was fascinated with watching the ants go about their business.


Author: Billie
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 11/13/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ant display is fabulous! ordering ants was difficult and confusing to do...


Author: Susan Stedman
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 11/08/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandson is delighted with this ant habitat. It is like a living nitelight in his bedroom and he is fascinated with the tunnels the ants are building. The accompanying booklet was most informative too.


Author: Anna Marie de la Fuente
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 11/08/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We bought a similar model years ago but this one is smaller and the ants died too quickly despite our care. My son rejected it out of disappointment after two days.


Author: Aletha Kircher
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 07/19/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The product was,and is, a big hit!! The objection I have is that it isn't an inexpensive item and then you have to pay extra for the ants. Depending on how you go about that,mail, online, etc. you can get hit with shipping charges on the ants, too!


Author: michelle benedict
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 06/18/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

love the different types of lights, easy shut off/on. the ants that we were able to catch all died so we will need to purchase some.


Author: Debbi
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/31/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My son loves it, checks up on the ants every day. Pretty hairy when transferring ants from mailing tube to habitat, some tried to escape. Several died within a few hours/1 day but the majority are fine and they started tunnelling through the get almost immediately. Instructions recommend taking habitat lid off for a few seconds periodically to let the ants get 'fresh air'. Removing the lid is hard due to seal, you have to hold the habitat tightly or it will overturn, you also have to make sure no ants are on the surface when you do this or they will try to get out. Overall, pretty cool, low maintenance 'pets' for kids.


Author: George Meeker
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/24/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ordered this for my grand daughter.She loved it ! !


Author: Sandy R
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/22/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I gave it to my 9 year old grandson for Christmas. He loves it. In fact, the whole family loves to watch the busy ants! I'm so glad I got it for him.


Author: Allan Battles
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/19/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I bought it for my grand daughter and she really likes it


Author: sstephens
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole family has enjoyed the ant farm - highly recommend.


Author: Ruth A Gochnauer
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/15/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful watching the ants at work and having the varied colors is nice.


Author: Laura Burton
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very happy with this product. It's smaller than we thought, but the ants all arrived live and are very active making tunnels. We keep it in a visible place in the house because we all want to see it, not just my 11 year old who received it as a gift.


Author: Melissa Goldstein
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy to do with my 8yr old son. He is really enjoying watching the ants !


Author: Susie N
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was a gift for my 7 yr old son. He says,' It is cool. You have pet ants and can watch them tunnel.' Good quality construction, it survived a fall with only a minor crack. Fun to watch, easy to care for.


Author: J
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Neat, but over priced for what you get.


Author: Michele Bell
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Seems to be a good product and my granddaughter is very excited about it. However, I was disappointed to find that the ants were not included and there was no link to order them. We'll have to wait until spring when we can round up some ants to use to see how the ant farm works.


Author: Kathleen Silver
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My son and husband love this! My son checks on his ants every morning and as soon as he comes home from school. So far there have been no escapes and I'm hoping that there never are!


Author: Melanie
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 5-year old loves this, and it looks cool.


Author: Katharine Wardlaw
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter is entranced!


Author: Joyce
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 7-year old granddaughter is in awe of her aunt farm. Good buy.


Author: Jennifer
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the coolest thing ever! My son got it for Christmas and we finally got our ants yesterday. We can't stop watching as they dig and carry the pieces out. Definitely recommend this!!!


Author: Cherry Thomas
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandchildren loved it!!


Author: Joyce
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nine year old was thrilled to received this ant farm and can't wait to order the ants to go in it. Gift was exactly as represented.


Author: Melissa
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was, by far, the best Christmas gift in terms of long-lasting interest. Everyone in the family from the youngest children to the grandparents enjoyed checking the ants progress each day. Wonderful item.


Author: Wendy D.
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this for my oldest granddaughter who is 12. She went crazy over it! In fact, the entire family had fun watching the ants tunnel through. I think I will order one for my house!


Author: Melanie and Owen McCoyd
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The ant farm is amazing. It is very,very interesting to watch. My son races up to his room each time we come home to check the ants progress. We love it. Just dont open the lid...we learned that the hard way...the ants can get out VERY quickly! Great toy!


Author: Ann Weir
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandkids LOVE it. I thought it was a bit on the expensive side, but they have such enjoyment from it that it was worth the cost. At first It seemed too small, but this is a good size. I would like to be able to use it again when all the ants die, but don't know if that is possible. The tunnels are amazing and the lighting really adds to it. I'm very glad I bought the ant farm.


Author: mike scruggs
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/09/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our grandson absolutely loved it and so did we. My wife and I want to get us one for Christmas! Love the way it is self contained.


Author: Valerie Mallett
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/02/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We ordered the Rainbow led ANT Farm for our son's 9th birthday. He is a big science and nature lover, and was thrilled with this. It is well constructed and easy to put together. Just had to order the ants, which came in a small vial. One cautionary note (because the instructions omit this key info): the ants move fast and can sting badly if they come into contact with skin. We know this from prior experience with an ant farm. Have everything set up and ready, and be sure to use rubber or other gloves when taking the lid off the vial of ants to transfer them to the ant farm. Our son has loved watching the ants dig their tunnels. The LED lightning is a neat added feature.


Author: Jeannine
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/02/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8 year old son loved this. It worked perfectly. Just plan to order the ants as they don't come with the farm.

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox