Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Light & Sound Phonics


Overall Rating
Light & Sound Phonics
EXCLUSIVE! A Portable Preschool Learning Center with Hours of Activities
Creative Child Magazine Top Educational Preschool Toy Award Creative Child Magazine Top Educational Preschool Toy Award
Ages 3 to 5
 Quantity
$29.95
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Peggy
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 02/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A great teaching tool!


Author: Ann Daniel
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought each this for each grandchild for Christmas. All have really enjoyed playing with it and their parents have given the Lights and Sounds Phonics a hardy thumbs-up!


Author: Jessica
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this for my nephew and he absolutely loved it! He is 3 years old. At first he kept hitting the buttons and making the toy keep saying OH NO because he was doing the wrong thing. But he liked the OH NO sound. :-) Then he started to get the hang of it and started playing the actual games. He was fixated on this educational toy. Thank you MindWare.


Author: Linda Morley
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a wonderful learning tool that is fun for kids to use. There are many different activities both for letters and numbers. I would highly recommend it!


Author: Don Falk
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Grandson loved it. Played it so much it was getting on his parents 'nerves' with the noise.


Author: Sue Abernathy
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This toy is something that will grow with my grandson.


Author: Pam Foltz
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good quality and easy to use for our 3 year old grandaughter


Author: Marcia Robinson
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 09/14/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my son commented that my grandson loves all and gravitated to all my purchases. Very happy with my purchase.


Author: Mat
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/27/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My niece loves it.


Author: Ashley
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/08/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a great, smaller toy to use when traveling! Very fun for my 3 year old!


Author: Frank
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/07/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Grand-daughter loves it


Author: regina belenkaya
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/07/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

excellent quality. my 7 year old was more interested in it, than 3 year old. it has some spelling activities


Author: Linda
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/06/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast delivery...great learning toy.


Author: Courtney
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We bought this for our 2 1/2 year old who is just starting to learn his letters. He's a bit young for it but will grow into it nicely. I like best that it has so many varied activities to choose from.


Author: Cecily
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a very good product and all my grandkids like playing with it.


Author: Elizabeth McNutt
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 12/03/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was told that ALL of my grandchildren are enjoying this one and playing with it enthusiastically! Very pleased, will be ordering again


Author: Arlene Neiman
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 11/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The toy allowed the child to independently work on phonics. The lights engaged the student; the voice recognition was clear and precise.


Author: Marcia Elliott
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 09/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My just turned three year old granddaughter loves this. She plays with it in the car as well as in the house. She likes the variety of games that are on it. She can use it by herself or we can play with it together. She found some of the games challenging, but has been making steady progress playing them.


Author: Dolores lopez
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/19/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good age progression ability


Author: Cynthia Washio
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter is non verbal but she loves the phonics tutoring and tries to say the letters while enjoying the lights and sounds


Author: Judith McCreight
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I returned this product because parts of it were phonetically incorrect. Specifically the 'short o' sound being represented by an owl. The word owl does not start with a 'short o' sound. I am a former first grade teacher and loved the game idea but could not accept it with incorrect information.


Author: Lynn
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was give to a 2 1/2 year old boy. Very colorful with excellent sound quality. He was mastering the request of the toy even though he was younger than three.


Author: Theresa Hinck
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great variety and fun!


Author: Teresa Tercero
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/12/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My grandson loves it and plays with it all the time. He doesn't follow the instructions, but I think that's more about him than about the toy!


Author: Dana
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My son plays with toy daily. He is learning to recognize letters and follow patterns and count. He is able to learn more than I expected at his age (4 years).


Author: Judy McCreight
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am a retired first grade teacher. I returned this because some of the phonics was questionable. Mostly, the 'short o' sound being represented by an owl was totally incorrect. The owl has the 'ow or ou' sound such as in cow or ouch. The 'short o' sound is as in octopus or ox. I do realize that lately a few company's have used owl as an example but that is incorrect. I liked the idea of the game and have liked everything else I have ordered from Mindware. This just happens to be phonically incorrect.


Author: Peggy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Educational and 5 year olds loved it.


Author: Judy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I think our 4 year grandaughter loves this and is learning phonics....


Author: amanda
Reviewing As:
Date: 10/20/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My four-year-old enjoys this activity center. I just wish the pictures were not verbalized with the letter during the letter find.


Author: Barbara Robles
Reviewing As:
Date: 09/15/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I like the fact that it has different level games, but some require speed and are very negative when one does not comply quickly enough. Being that this is geared for preschoolers, it should have a 'try again' aspect, or one should be able to select the type of feedback.


Author: Julie A. Schiavoni
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

this was a gift for my 3 yr. old grand daughter that is behind in her speech development. I just ordered another one to keep at our house, so we can practice with her when she visits. The initial one was a Christmas gift to her.


Author: Marty
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This toy is lots of fun.. it has a few different levels so it can grow wioth the child..


Author: Lisa
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

So far I love this product. I personally have played each game. My 3 year old prefers some games over others based on his abilities. Even my 2 year old loves to push the buttons! I think this will be a good educational tool for both children for a while. The piece itself seems durable. And the size is perfect to bring in the car. The buttons are neither too big for little fingers nor too small.


Author: cecile richaed
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/02/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only thing I would change is to be able to have a volume button!!


Author: Carla
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/02/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love it! This was a gift for my granddaughter, and I was very impressed with it!


Author: Michelle Ballard
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/02/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My 4-year-old enjoys the games and the lights, but I didn't feel the sounds were quite clear enough to really help him with his 'trouble sounds', especially the 's' sound.


Author: Kim
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm a Mother of two and veteran teacher. My expectations for this product weren't too high however I am thrilled with it. Fantastic learning tool!


Author: J.E. Rose
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/09/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 3 yr. old grandson adored the noises immediately. By the next evening, he had learned to use 4 of the 8 modes. It keeps him busy for long periods of time, and teaches him phonics at the same time. The noise gets to be a bit much for the adults sometimes, but it all has a worthwhile puropose. Wonderful!


Author: Jane
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/09/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great product. My 8 month old grandson loves to listen to all the sounds. He is doing much babling so I believe this is helping!!


Author: Carol
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is even fun for adults, so it really encourages parent/grandparent participation.


Author: kathleen Holland
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

need more input from parents on this to answer correctly


Author: Norma Yagnich
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My 5 year old grandson found it more interesting than my 3 year old granddaughter.


Author: Barbara Rich
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My daughters (3 and 7 years old) both seem to enjoy this very much!


Author: Dianne Cole
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

granddaughter loved it- and is still discovering new games to play


Author: Jenny Rea
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There is a lot of different activities that you can do with this phonics toy. It will keep a child focused for awhile. I gave it to my 2&1/2 year-old and it is a little difficult for him.


Author: Anthony Waskie
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

3 year old daughter has a tough time with many of games because she can't recognize letters yet. Some games she loves though. I'm assuming once she knows letters she'll really appreciate this game. Thanks!


Author: Lionel Poche
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just the righttoy for three year old grandson. The boy enjoys it.


Author: pamela northcut
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

both of my grandkids love this game, they also fight over this one also. it helps them with there letters and the sound of the letters.


Author: Jen
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I like this product. My son is only 3 and is too young to do all of the 'games' on it, but he has been practicing his letters using 'game 1' and I am seeing an improvement already. This is definitely something that will grow with him, provided the letter stickers to not peel off. That is the one thing I am worried about.


Author: Marian Thier
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

grandkids love it


Author: dolores stoeffler
Reviewing As:
Date: 11/02/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy for a 3 year old to use. And fun


Author: Bob Searle
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/28/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Terrific product, especially given it is bi-lingual.

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox