Educational Toys and Learning Toys | Mindware toys
1-800-999-0398
  Search
Created by Mindware Award Winners New Products Best Sellers Sale
Catalog Quick Shop
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Customer Reviews for Meg Mackintosh Mysteries: Books 1-4


Overall Rating
Meg Mackintosh Mysteries
EXCLUSIVE! Be Observant, Persistent and Smart—Just Like Meg
Ages 7 to 10
 Quantity
$24.95
Continue Shopping    Write a Review
Filter By

Author: Amy
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 02/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My daughter is enjoying these, but the pictures give away so much that she doesn't take the time to try and reason it out first.


Author: Catherine Weiss
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My daughter (8y.o.) loves to read! She couldn't put them down! She liked how she was able to try to solve it using the picture before reading on and figuring it out. She said ' These need to be in my school library; everyone will love them!'.


Author: Margaret Mowers
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased for a 7-yr old. He loves them!


Author: Jeanne M
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We gave these to a granddaughter a few years ago and she passed them on to her younger brothers. This year we have them to a grandson in a different family. All of of our grandchildren love them!


Author: SimplyS
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My 9 yr old likes the stories, but she is a little past the content. She's a voracious reader though.


Author: Barbara Bonillas
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 5 year old granddaughter is becoming an avid and fluid reader, so I gave her these books (and the next set as well) for Christmas. She loves them! We went through the first four books together before I left. How wonderful to have a girl as the main character and being so smart and adventurous! I hope the author comes up with some more books in this vein.


Author: C Negus
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

10 yr old lapped them up. 8 yr old read one quickly then stopped (but will read all in time)


Author: Pattie
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8 yr. old daughter loved the mystery aspect of the books. They are a fairly fast read which is good because they want to solve the story


Author: Michael Jaques
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Daughter in Kindergardenloves the books & has asked we purchase additional in series.


Author: Judy
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

She liked the books


Author: Nick Behre
Reviewing As: Parent
Date: 01/11/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is a good series, except for the small amount of pages and experience. My daughter had it read and figured out in 25 minutes. I wish for that kind of money they would be twice as long so there is a better value.


Author: Charlotte Barkley
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 9 yr old grandson took to these books enthusiastically, studying the clues, discussing possible solutions, and then eagerly asking to start work on the next book.


Author: Jane Goodfriend
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our 8 year old granddaughter finished her first book quickly and LOVED it!


Author: Michelle Goldie
Reviewing As: Other
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My great niece loved them.


Author: Ken
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable and thought provoking for the kids


Author: J Reimer
Reviewing As: Teacher
Date: 01/04/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fun books that will be motivating for my kids to read


Author: Janice Liles
Reviewing As: Grandparent
Date: 10/04/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money.


Author: Jenn
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My daughter, age 7, flew through these and loved them!


Author: RPA
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/18/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 10 year old granddaughter loved these books so much that I'm planning to give her the second set as well.


Author: Cathy Alfandre
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These are great 'who done it' books. They really focus on the beginning, middle and end approach to solving a mystery. They are very applicable to other reading experiences.


Author: Jennifer
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/08/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

no comment


Author: Maycee
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the kids seemed to enjoy them. I thought the premise was good, looking for clues in the pictures as you read, but the execution was not what it could have been.


Author: Kathie
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8 year old daughter got books 1-4 last year for Christmas and has re-read them several times. We are getting 4-8 and the new book 9 this year for Christmas. The books are small, but so exciting for the mind of a little girl.


Author: Riki Daniels
Reviewing As:
Date: 07/29/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My 10 year old daughter loves these books. However we noticed in the first book that it is missing the three first pages.


Author: 2nd grade teacher
Reviewing As:
Date: 06/25/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My students love these books (Guided Reading Level O)! Each story has questions throughout that help the reader to solve the mystery and think about the story. They also help to build vocabulary and background. For instance 'The Mystery of the Whale Watch' involves scrimshaw.


Author: Kathryn
Reviewing As:
Date: 06/08/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Really smart books my 7-year-old has loved!


Author: Jan Rymer
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/10/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this series for my 7 yr old grandson for Christmas. He loved them & read thru them over Christmas break! I will probably order the next set for him later this year. Thanks!


Author: Brenda
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/03/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They are quick reads for sure, but my 8 year old enjoyed every minute of it. A great introduction to detective reading...


Author: Julianne
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/08/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Read the books to my 7 & 9 yr old. They liked trying to solve the mystery. It was a nice family fun night.


Author: Sandra Schmidt
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/08/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding! My 9 year old granddaughter read all 4 books and asked for more!


Author: Susan
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Like the books but think the age range is too high. May have been helpful to in clude the number of pages per book which could be an indication of the difficulty.


Author: Paula Johnson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My niece loved these books - she read all four of them in a few days.


Author: seattlemom
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My almost 7 year old daughter has really gotten into the first book. She read about half of it last night. She loves the fact the she can look at the clues and try to figure out what Meg's next step should be. The books are a bit thin but my daughter is really enjoying them. I wish there were chapter breaks though.


Author: tara guernon
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great books


Author: sheshe
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My seven year old daughter is loving these books! She read the first one in two days, and had to read the solution to the mystery aloud to me; she thought it was so good she wanted to share it!


Author: Kristen
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/04/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8 year old daughter loved these books! She read all 4 within a week! They are great for reading comprehension, attention to details, and making predictions.


Author: Arline
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/03/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

8 year old really enjoyed the books.


Author: Lonnie M Johnson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8-year-old granddaughter had all 4 read & asking for more about 4 days after Christmas.


Author: Ila A Anderson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter loved the books. She read read them and had to retell them to me. She was so excited by them.


Author: safia kryger-nelson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 7 1/2 year old son LOVES them!


Author: Toni
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Marvelous adventures that captured the interest of my almost seven year old granddaughter...fun-filled, readable, mind expansion !


Author: Sherry Whitw
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter LOVES science, and sped through the first three in one day. A hit! She's 8, and reads way above her grade level, but the heroine in these appealed to her because of their similae age. Hearrily recommended!


Author: c. Brown
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/14/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 7 year old daughter devoured these books. She likes the way you make choices and answer questions to solve the mystery. She feels empowered reading these books. Get ready for set 2!


Author: Mary
Reviewing As:
Date: 07/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 9 year old and her summer camp friends love reading and working to solve the mysteries.


Author: Melinda Glowasky
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/07/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great books for my 8-year-old


Author: Blanton, Jane
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/17/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our seven year old read them repeatedly.


Author: Bena
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 10 yr old loved them!


Author: Lisa Peloso
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great product and fast delivery


Author: Roberta
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought these for my niece's birthday and they are perfect for her!


Author: georgia patterson
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/11/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent


Author: Melanie Fisk
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More books for the 10-year-old...expect they're keeping her busy reading!


Author: Mellisa Koetter
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 1st grader loves the fact that she get to play along and solve the mystery with Meg.


Author: 2girlsmom
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The text was too easy for my 10 year old, but she loved looking for clues in in pictures.


Author: Polly Feis
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughters 8 and 9, loved the books. Especially the Creepy Camp one. We spent quality time trying to figure out the clues. I am going to get the other 4 soon. Thank you.


Author: C Huber
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter seemed to enjoy reading through it.


Author: Jonna Hallam
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My neice loved the books


Author: Sandy Lundberg
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Delivery was prompt and my grandson is enjoying the books.


Author: Denise
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter aged 9 loved this the best.


Author: Cheri Sudler
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 5yr old daughter read all 4 books in a pack in two days and can't wait to get the rest of the series!


Author: donna frinks
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good problem-solving stories


Author: Charles Turnbaugh
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gift item for 12 year old girl. She is smart and inquisitive and this was just right for her. She went through them rapidly though. Think I should have gone for something more challenging for her.


Author: Mindy
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

purchased for my 8 yr old. She read two the first day. She has asked for the other set.


Author: Sara Gillis
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good product, prompt service


Author: Gail
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/06/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my 9 year old daughter couldn't put down the books. they are well done. we'll be ordering the next four soon.


Author: John
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Child loved the books. Great transaction. Thanks.


Author: Sheila
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/05/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 8-year-old grandson started the first one and said he couldn't stop reading it because it was 'sooooo good.'


Author: TVossen
Reviewing As:
Date: 10/14/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Encourages children to use critical thinking skills. My ten year-old son thoroughly enjoys these books.


Author: Kathy Baumwart
Reviewing As:
Date: 04/28/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I haven't seen them, but my daughter says my granddaughter seems to really enjoy them.If they weren't good she wouldn't bother.


Author: Jan Manuguerra
Reviewing As:
Date: 02/18/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The idea was cute but the books were overpriced.


Author: Susan Longsjo
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/27/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our 7-year-old granddaughter would have liked different kinds of stories, but she liked the general idea.


Author: JEP
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

9 year old girl in 4th grade loves them. She even turns off the tv, ipod, etc... because she 'likes to pay very close attention so she doesn't miss anything, because you have to remember things in them...'


Author: Janet Gutierrez
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/13/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My granddaughter loved the books!


Author: Patricia R Gray
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/12/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 2nd grade granddaughter, who reads very well, enjoyed following the clues to find the answers.


Author: Joan Cohen
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/07/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They were sent to children who do not live with me. They seemed to look forward to reDING THEM.


Author: gretchen
Reviewing As:
Date: 01/01/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My 8 year old loved these books and read the whole set before New Year's!


Author: Marcia Tennill
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Arrived in great condition!


Author: Jen Byrd
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My daughter (10) loved these, but they were a little easy for her.


Author: Charlotte Thompson
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/31/2008
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

8 yr old was thrilled to get them, received on Dec. 25, finished with all four on Dec 29, and she is a busy girl.


Author: Suzanne Folwell
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/09/2008
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 9 year old granddaughter loved the books.I ordered the second set for her for Christmas.


Author: Suzanne Folwell
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/09/2008
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 9 year old granddaughter loved the books.I ordered the second set for her for Christmas.


Author: Carol Vannelli
Reviewing As:
Date: 12/09/2008
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The books are more like pamphlets than books and are therefore overpriced.

Need Assistance
Contact Us
Customer Service
Shipping Information
Order Tracking
FAQ
Our Company
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
About Us
Inventors
Privacy Policy
Pressroom
Follow Mindware
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Blog
Email List
Receive MindWare
news and discounts
in your inbox